04182018 Manar Elec Coop 1

SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Andy Manar welcomed area students to the state Capitol Wednesday for Illinois Electric and Telephone Cooperatives Youth Day, an annual event that connects young people with state government and their elected representatives in Springfield.

“These are the rural leaders of tomorrow,” Manar (D-Bunker Hill) said. “Illinois’ rural cooperatives understand the importance of igniting a passion for public service and problem-solving, because our downstate communities need these young people and their ideas more than ever.”

This is the 59th year Illinois’ electric and telephone cooperatives have sponsored the advocacy day. Nearly 250 students attend each year for a chance to visit the Capitol, meet with their lawmakers and see state government in action.

Manar welcomed area students representing MJM Electric Cooperative in Carlinville. They included Daniel Jarden, Alexis Maguire, Grant Morgan, Allyson O’Malley, Truman Poteat, Olivia Schellingburger and Grace Traylor. They were accompanied by Charlie Peterson. He also welcomed area students representing Rural Electric Convenience Cooperative (RECC) in Auburn. They included Emily Curry, Kyle Dickman, Riley Meredith, Braeden Scheerer, Abbie Simpson and Hailey Winslow. They were accompanied by Jeff Lancaster and Sandy Lex.


04182018 Manar Elec Coop 3 MJM

Pictured from MJM Electric Cooperative: Front row, left to right: Truman Poteat, Grant Morgan, Olivia Schellingburger, State Rep. Avery Bourne, Grace Traylor, Alexis Maguire and Allyson O’Malley. Back row, left to right: Daniel Jarden, Charlie Peterson, State Senator Andy Manar.


04182018 Manar Elec Coop 2 RECC

Pictured from Rural Electric Convenience Cooperative: Front row, left to right: Jeff Lancaster, Emily Curry, Abbie Simpson and Hailey Winslow. Back row, left to right: Kyle Dickman, Braeden Scheerer, State Senator Andy Manar, Riley Meredith and Sandy Lex.

Category: People of the 48th