SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Andy Manar welcomed area students to the state Capitol Wednesday for Illinois Electric and Telephone Cooperatives Youth Day, an annual event that connects young people with state government and their elected representatives in Springfield.

This is the 60th year Illinois’ electric and telephone cooperatives have sponsored the advocacy day. Nearly 250 students attend each year for a chance to visit the Capitol, meet with their lawmakers and see state government in action.

MJM Electric Cooperative

04032019 Manar MJM Electric

Representing MJM Electric Cooperative in Carlinville were: Daniel Jarden, Alexis Maguire, Grant Morgan, Allyson O’Malley, Truman Poteat, Olivia Schellingburger and Grace Traylor. They were accompanied by Charlie Peterson.

Rural Electric Convenience Cooperative

04032019 Manar Rural Electric Conv Coop

Representing Rural Electric Convenience Cooperative Co. in Auburn were: Summer Beckham, Alicyn Harbaugh, Tim Hemberger, Sandy Lex, Rudie Logerquist, Nancy Mi, Jocelyn Nester, William Ryan, Braeden Scheerer and Kaytlin Smith.

Shelby Electric Cooperative

04032019 Manar Shelby Electric

Representing Shelby Electric Cooperative in Shelbyville were: Kaitlin Arthur, Samuel Hal-Dean Baker, Jacob Beyers, Griffin Brown, Alexa Cassidy, Paige Coleman, Heidi Hall, Luke Jesgarz, Sophia Keller, Savannah Mendenhall, Claire Moomaw, Morgan Nohren, Kelsey Partlow, Quentin Perry, Michela Porrello, Dustin Theiss, Hunter Thompson and Sheila Williams.

Category: People of the 48th

COVID19 Updates